In lieu of these extremely warm days I really didn't want to be cooped up in the kitchen sweating my life away. I mean seriously, the only thing worse than a moody person is a hot & hungry moody person, that would be me. So last night after going food shopping I decided today's dinner would be done on the grill. Nothing says "Bring  it on summer!" like the sweet, or burning, smell of charcoal and charred meat. I got some steak and Cornish hens and started a marinating meat party in the kitchen.  I marinated the hens in Garlic & Herb marinade by A1 and the steak in the Chipotle Bbq marinade of the same brand. I will include pics below along with my brief instructions for my versions. After marinating the meats overnight I pre-cooked them  in the oven, that was just my personal preference. 
Picture
Grilled Cornish Hens 
4 Cornish Hens
2 packages A1 Marinade (shown in pic)
ingredients on the package of marinade
1 large onion (cut into quarters)



Prepare the marinade, clean the hens, and soak them in the marinade making sure they are thoroughly coated inside and out. Stuff one quarter of the onion into each hen and let them sit in the marinate over night. Set the oven to 300 degrees F, place hens in oven covered and cook until almost tender. finish the meat off on the grill basting several times on each side with marinade left in the pan, paying careful attention not to char the hens. Remove hens when grilled to your liking, let cool, and enjoy!!!

Picture
Finished hens, they were literally falling off of the bone, and the onions were so yummy
Picture
Grilled Steak
4 lbs. Bone-in blade steak or Flanken
ingredients on the package of marinade



Follow the instructions for the hens above, steak can be grilled on higher temperatures and some charring is ok, maybe even preferred. 

Picture
This steak was so tender and yummy!
Cindy Carter
6/1/2013 12:21:46 am

Giiiirl you don't be playin'!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.